Striker move broke down due to wage demands?

It's not about the money, money , money...

It’s not about the money, money , money…

Reportedly the failed attempt to sign French striker Bafetimbi Gomis failed as he was unwilling to compromise on wages.

Speaking to French television show Canal Football club, he said

“I had a talk with Newcastle’s coach and we found an agreement,”

“Then, there were talks with Lyon, there was a first offer – which was refused and then a second one, which was accepted.

“Newcastle then came back to me and asked me to make an effort on wages – but I never asked anything as it was my club which wanted to transfer me, so the effort had to be made by Newcastle or Lyon.”

I have no problem with the fact that Newcastle United was remaining true to their wage structure, and the one thing that can be said for the club is that they no longer pay inflated prices and wages for players who are simply not good enough. The 2008/09 team that saw us relegated from the Premier League were a rag tag band of mercenaries, for the most part, and I am sure most Newcastle United fans would not want to see us bring in players like that any more.

However, what I am concerned about is, having found Gomis’ wages to be too high, why did we not actively pursue other transfer targets that were within our wage structure? Also, let’s be honest, strikers are going to demand that little bit extra aren’t they? After all, they are the guys who win games, so surely we need to factor in an extra 10/15k to our wage structure when we are looking to sign a striker?

Personally. I didn’t think Gomis was good enough for Newcastle United, at best I saw him as an improved version of Shola, given that he can hold up the ball pretty well, but he lacked pace, and I never saw him as a truly clinical striker, but by the end of the transfer window I’d have been delighted to see him sign, such was my frustration with our inactivity.

The fact of the matter is, Newcastle United do not negotiate with terrorists…I mean players who demand high wages, and even if it means leaving the negotiating table and leaving our squad in dire need until the January transfer window, that is what Mike Ashley will do.

In terms of business, it is ruthless, and impressive. In terms of a fan, dying to see a player, any player, signed for his team, it is pretty deflating.

What do you think?

As always, comments welcome!

One comment

What do you think? Leave a comment!

