Elliot: Not just a bench warmer

Newcastle's No 2

Newcastle’s No 2

There can be no denying how well Rob Elliot has done as Newcastle United’s stand in goalkeeper in Tim Krul’s absence from the side for large spells of last season. The former Charlton Athletic keeper was signed in the summer of 2011 and has steadily grown and developed as a player in that time. Following a shaky début in the League Cup against Nottingham Forest, Elliot is now looking like a safe pair of hands when called upon.

Elliot has made no attempts to hide his personal ambitions, and that he is not in the Newcastle squad to simply make up the numbers. This is what the Newcastle goalkeeper had to say,

“Tim’s a top keeper – he’s the number one – but I’m not here just to sit on the bench.” “I’m here to push him. That’s what I did all pre-season, and I was disappointed, to be honest with you, not to start the season.”

“I had a chat with the gaffer and he said ‘Tim is the No1, so you have to accept that’. I just said I want to keep training, keep working hard and prove that I can hopefully get into the team.”

“Obviously, Tim has been fantastic, as he usually is. All I can do is back it up when I get a chance to play, and keep doing well in training.” “We are good mates anyway, so there’s nothing nasty there.”

“Tim knows I work hard, and I want to get in the team, and he knows he has got to keep me out.” “As long as we are both putting in performances like we have been doing recently, that’s all we can do.”

It’s always healthy to have competition for places, and that is something we do not have in all areas of the squad, so it is great to know that we have more than a suitable stand in for Krul if he ever has to spend some time on the sidelines again.

What do you think? Is Rob really pushing Krul hard for that number 1 spot? Maybe you think he’s good enough to start? We’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions.

I heard that if you wanted to read these articles that you had to comment. I mean, I don’t make the rules or anything, just passing on what I heard.

6 comments

  1. You’ve made a nice start to the blog Ruddy, you’re a talented writer, keep it up!

    On Elliot, there is no doubt he has proven to be good value for money. I seem to remember there was a lot of confusion at the time as to why we bought him, when we had Krul, Harper and Alnwick. He has grown more and more with each game he has played. However I still think Krul is a class above and could go on to be one of the best keepers in the world if he stays fit and works on his distribution. I think as long as Krul is at this club, Elliot is destined to be a number 2.

    Like

    1. Thanks Tinman much appreciated “this poster is destined for big things on my blog” 😉 haha

      Re Elliot, I have really come to like the lad, he put in some decent shifts in the PL last season when called upon, and did so again against Morecambe when we could have easily been a goal or two down before half time. I agree that Krul has the ability to be a top top keeper and that Elliot could “always be the bridesmaid but never the bride” but think about what other goalkeeper we could have said that about in our recent past? He didn’t fair out too badly either.

      Like

  2. Haha, I hope so 😉

    If a big offer comes in for Krul, then no doubt Elliot could step up. He saved us from yet more Cup embarrassment in the Morecambe game for sure.

    Like

    1. I was surprised that Arsenal didn’t go in for Krul, maybe the asking price was too high. They ended up getting Viviano on loan from Palermo, and if he does well they could sign him permanently, but if he doesn’t they could end up going back in for Krul. Watch this space.

      Like

  3. I would agree Tinman, he will always play second fiddle to Krul who as you say could be one of the best in the world if he improves his distribution, but it can only be of benefit to Krul to have a good keeper like Elliot keeping him on his toes, the competition is good for both of them, lets hope it continues.

    Like

    1. Harper played second fiddle to some excellent goalkeepers. I guess there is no shame in being an very good goalkeeper keeping an excellent goalkeeper on his toes. Without competition, goalkeepers can get complacent. Look at Reina when he was at Liverpool, and Sczhezny at Arsenal as prime examples.

      Like

What do you think? Leave a comment!

